Recovering from a Long Weekend

IMG_3645

Happy Tuesday!  Well, technically Monday for me.  I took a long weekend away and visited Las Vegas, Zion National Park, Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon!  I swear I am in a post-vacation depression but realize I need to be more grateful about what I experienced than sad that the trip is over.

Now that I am back, I can see how most people easily get off track after a vacation or a busy weekend!  The last thing I want to do is give my all in the gym and prepare food to have healthy meals this week.  But, as I do like my routine, I have made the effort to get these things done.  And I want to help others jump back into a healthy lifestyle as well after a long weekend or vacation.  Here are my top tips!  And I swear I will post a recap of my trip as well.

1. Have frozen vegetables and lean proteins in your house before you leave.

Going to the grocery store is the LAST thing I want to do when I am driving home from the airport after a vacation.  The key?  I always make sure I have frozen broccoli and brussel sprouts (any vegetable) and tuna packets at my house.  That way, I don’t have an excuse when it comes to getting in a quick meal that’s high in fiber and protein.

IMG_3619

Yes-I ate a cookies and cream Quest bar on my hike 🙂

2. Have a specific workout class or workout planned for when you get back.

Have this on your calendar and STICK TO IT.  I plan on starting a new strength training program now that I am back.  I really want to try out these killer workouts Kristine has posted: http://www.busybuthealthy.com/full-body-blast-circuit-workout-week-1/. I also may hit up a cycling class at my gym to give my legs a nice break from hiking but still get some blood flow.

IMG_3717

3. Don’t try to “cut back” on your food intake because you splurged while on vacation.

THIS WILL BACKFIRE.  This will lead to an overeating and undereating cycle that just ruins your metabolism.  Get right back to your normal eating patterns and your body will readjust!  A handful of days of eating off track does not mean all is lost.  Remember why you started this lifestyle (for me it makes me FEEL incredible in my own skin) and get right back to it.

IMG_3723

Hope this helps some of those struggling to see the light after a few days away.  I am off to the gym now to sweat!

How do you get back on track after a long weekend vacation?

Leave a Reply

