What I Ate Wednesday: Learning Balance

Finding balance has been a big part of my health journey.  I have been working more on balance in my life with exercise, food, family, friends, and my job.  I put so much stress on myself with being the best and continuing to grow my career and expertise, in my nutrition choices, and making sure I workout 6 days per week.  I do want to say, however, I have come a far way since the beginning of my fitness journey.  Almost 2 years ago, I ran a marathon and was going about it the wrong way.  I would run for miles only to not feed my body enough food and thus put my body under so much stress.  I was going crazy with my nutrition choices on the weekend because I was so strict Monday-Friday and I just couldn’t find a happy balance with my food intake.  Now, I have realized your nutrition and workout routine should and needs to be sustainable.

My nutrition should be balanced and allow for foods I don’t consider “whole” or “healthy”. My nutrition should also be mostly focused around ‘whole foods’ for health. My nutrition shouldn’t be black or white.  My nutrition should allow for treat meals, chocolate, fried foods, broccoli, and white fish if I like it.  People may go about their nutrition differently.  People may eat to look good or for health.  Sometimes you can do both. I am to do both with my nutrition choices because I like feeling good in my skin but I also want to live a long life.

IMG_4892[1]

 

breakfast// 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats cooked with water and 2/3 scoop of MTS vanilla whey protein powder, topped with frozen organic blueberries and strawberries, drizzled with 2 tablespoons Artisana raw coconut butter

Balance to me means that I can eat breakfast right when I wake up or wake for 2 hours until I am hungry.  I no longer try to put meal time ‘rules’ on myself.  I like to eat at least 5 times per day, so this can get tricky but I simply aim to listen to my hunger vs look at the time on the clock.  If I wake up and want to work for an hour before eating? Fine. If I wake up and am starving?  I eat.

IMG_4896[1]

lunch// 4 oz fresh wild-caught mahi mahi, green beans, lightly salted rice cake with Justin’s honey peanut butter

Balance means I can have the same lunch everyday because it is easy to meal prep.  It means I am eating lunch vs skipping lunch like I may have done in the past. It means I am eating more than just a ‘protein bar’ and more than just a piece of fruit.  It is sitting down to enjoy a real true lunch vs snacking on carrots.  Balance means I can eat some of my favorite foods (peanut butter, obvi) while still eating fibrous vegetables and lean protein.

IMG_4897[1]

 

pre-workout snack// cookies and cream Quest bar and almonds

Balance means I can eat greek yogurt and berries or have a quest bar because I no longer judge my meals by “clean eating” guidelines.  It means I can eat raw almonds or peanut butter or avocado or any fat before my workout because I am not scared of “eating fat around my workout”.

IMG_4867[1]

dinner from Saturday// veggie burger from Galaxy cafe with avocado and {pesto aioli} on whole wheat bun with a side of sweet potato fries

Balance means eating a burger and fries on Saturday and then eating a typical dinner on Tuesday (omelet with 1 egg and 3/4 cup egg whites with veggies and corn tortillas, toast with PB2, and dry cereal post-workout) but forgetting to take a picture because food isn’t the most important thing in your life and you were talking on the phone while shoveling food in your face.

IMG_4903c

bedtime snack//mint chocolate chip protein smoothie with 1 scoop Cellucor Mint Chocolate Chip whey protein, 1/2 banana, and water and 1 Quaker chocolate rice cake crumbled on top with 2 tablespoons of peanut butter eaten on a spoon and hot tea to warm up (Sugar cookie sleigh ride-the BEST tea ever)

Balance is realizing you can never be perfect with your food but still striving to make good choices.  Balance is realizing someone else may eat healthier, stricter, more organic, be able to eat more carbs than you but realizing you’re body and food is just as amazing.

Thank you Jenn for hosting another full day of eating party that I get to be apart of!

wiaw fall into good habits button

Can you believe tomorrow is Thanksgiving?!!  I am making pecan pie…wish me luck!!!

 

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: Learning Balance

Leave a Reply

