WIAW: How to Eat like a Bodybuilder and a Dietitian

WIAW 4.22.15 006

Happy HUMP day my fellow sassy pants friends.  Today I wanted to discuss the nutrition habits I have created.  Basically, I feel like there are extremes with eating patterns.  You either eat like a bodybuilder (chicken and asparagus and protein powder) or you eat like a health nut (green smoothies and organic kale and coconut oil).  I feel like the two don’t ever seem to cross!

However, if you’ve been reading my blog for awhile now, you understand my beliefs around balance.

WIAW 4.7.15 029

(Example of BALANCE with ice cream and cheese and coconut butter in my shopping cart!)

I used to be a strict “clean eater” until I learned and began to understand macronutrients, meal timing, nutrition for performance, and moderation.  Then, I began to count macros and fit PopTarts, sugary cereal, ice cream, Oreos, etc into my diet (which I still do to a certain extent!).  But, I really think I have found a perfect ratio of eating like a bodybuilder/athlete and eating like a dietitian and/or health nut.  Today I want to talk about my 5 tips to eat like a bodybuilder AND a dietitian!

WIAW 4.22.15 016

breakfast// Vanilla Cinnamon Pumpkin Pie Protein Oatmeal: 1/2 cup oats cooked with water in microwave for 2 minutes, add 1/2 scoop ProZero whipped vanilla plant protein and microwave for another minute, then add cinnamon and 1/2 cup pumpkin puree, dump into almost empty Toffee Crunch flavor Nuts n’ more PB container (so good) and top with more peanut butter and fresh blueberries.

Tip #1: Utilize protein powder if you can’t get in enough protein with whole foods alone, but make sure it is a QUALITY protein powder.  Make sure the protein powder doesn’t have any additives.  Also, make sure your protein is cGMP certified (look for stamp on the tub).  I tolerate whey protein powder fine but REALLY love the HPN ProZero protein as it’s made with organic brown rice protein and sweetened with stevia.  Other brands I also really like: AboutTime protein, Jay Robb, Vega, PlantFusion, SlapNutrition, MTS Whey, and Cellucor. Don’t just use the protein powder found at your local Walmart to get in your ‘protein’!

Salad bar

lunch//salad bar with organic kale, spinach, and romaine base, no-oil added soy-ginger tofu, tuna poke, and roasted parmesan broccoli

Tip #2: Eat your protein and vegetables but add variety with protein sources and vegetables.  No, you don’t need to eat chicken and asparagus forever. Nor would I want someone to eat only chicken and asparagus.  The biggest thing I tell clients is to eat a VARIETY of fruits and vegetables to get in all the antioxidants and micronutrients you need. If you always eat chicken and asparagus, you will be missing out on key nutrients!

Tip #3: Care about WHERE your chicken, seafood, meat, and eggs come from.  Start to pay attention to how the animals were raised.  Look for higher quality meats and seafood that is wild-caught.  Search for eggs that are from pasture-raised chickens that were fed with vegetarian feed.

WIAW 4.22.15 012

preworkout meal//chocolate rice cakes (3)  topped with a healthy ‘frosting’ made from Fage plain greek yogurt mixed with Caramel extract (new find! SOO GOOD) and a little sea salt

4. Eat a good mix of carbs. I have seen some bodybuilders who will literally only eat brown rice and sweet potato. Try out some sprouted grain breads. Try out lentil chips.  Try oat bran and squash and jasmine rice and red potato.

dinner dinner 2

postworkout dinner//1 egg, 4 egg white omelette with roasted broccoli, red onion, and tomato in coconut oil and roasted butternut squash (x 3 on that squash)

5. Eat the WHOLE egg-WITH THE YOLK!  Bodybuilders love their egg whites. Dietitians love their eggs.  Recent research has shown the cholesterol in egg yolks do not contribute to high cholesterol.  WHY would you NOT eat the whole egg!  1 egg mixed into egg whites makes SUCH a difference in taste, flavor, and nutrition profile.  I wish everyone knew that there is actually MORE protein in the yolk than the white but it also has fat and vitamins and minerals.  Most bodybuilders stay away from the yolk due to the fat content 😦 My perfect fix?  1-2 whole eggs and 2-4 egg whites.

dessert

dessert//#beltsanderbrownie (you can see more of my creations on Instagram and then search under the hashtag for more recipes), vanilla-roasted almonds, Peanut butter panda puffs, mini Oreo’s and 2 tbsp peanut butter added after the picture!

Tip #6 (An extra tip since I said I was doing my Top 5 tips but oh well, I digress): Don’t deprive yourself.  A lot of bodybuilders cut out food groups to get “lean” and “shredded”.  I no longer will succumb to those thoughts and will continue to eat cereal, Oreo’s, and healthy brownies to my hearts content.

If you have questions about my intake or how to eat according to your goals, don’t hesitate to email me.  I would love to find a way to fit your favorite foods into realistic, healing, wholesome nutrition habits: DietitianDeanna@gmail.com.

Can’t forget my weekly progress pictures as well:

progress 1

progress

progress 3

How do you incorporate eating like a bodybuilder AND a health nut?

6 thoughts on “WIAW: How to Eat like a Bodybuilder and a Dietitian

  1. Great tips and lots of yummy eats! It is all about balance and moderation and finding what works for you and your body. And you can NEVER go wrong with oats in almost PB jar. It is seriously my favorite breakfast and always looking forward to eating it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Deanna, you look stunning in that dress! I am in recovery from anorexia so I am totally not what someone would consider a “clean eater” I am a lll about the pints of Ben & Jerry’s. 🙂 I think it is important for everyone to find what works for them and not what works for others. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

